July 4 Wisdom Recipes Thought for Today: Letting Go of The Past

Letting Go of The Past

Some people believe holding on and hanging in there are signs of great strength. However, there are times when it takes much more strength to know when to let go and then do it.”
― Ann Landers

Life is made up of both good and bad experiences. Sometimes we think only of the past as glory days gone by and feel the present moment has nothing better to offer. Sometimes we re-live memories, at times painful ones as if the present moment does not count. But what about here and now? By holding onto the past, we are not able to enjoy the present moment and anticipate for a brighter future. We hold onto what no longer serves us by refusing to let go and not allow ourselves to start living in the moment.

Imagine what it would feel like letting go of what no longer serves us. Imagine a balloon released in the air and finally being free. We could be free by realizing the past is gone, and there is nothing we can do to change it. We can, however, recognize the present moment and appreciate what life has to offer. We can learn from our past, but we should not remain stuck in the past. By holding onto the past and what no longer serves us we miss out on opportunities today and possibilities for the future.

Some people never break free of what no longer serves them and are running in the same circles they traveled around ten, twenty or thirty years ago. Life is too short to stay stagnant in a fishbowl. Break free of the mindset of yesterday’s gone by and start practicing mindfulness by living in the present moment.

Just for Today
I will re-focus my attention to the room I am sitting in right now and be grateful for the present moment. I will start living a purposeful life by building new memories here and now. I know if I let go of what no longer serves me, I am opening up a door of opportunity to invite in what will serve me. By inviting in what will serve me, I will be offering myself a chance to live my best life now. I know by clinging to glory days and past regrets, I will watch today turn into my yesterdays and time slip by me. By living for today, I will no longer be living in regret of yesterday and find value in all my life experiences yesterday, today and hopefully, future days that lie ahead.

Just for today, I will let go of the past, and what no longer serves me.  I will embrace each moment – here and now.

Leave a Reply

